New members appointed to the International Professional Recognition Council

iprc hi res logo

After an open call for nominations, the members who will serve on the International Professional Recognition Council (IPRC) for the next three years were recently appointed.

The Southern African Research and Innovation Management Association (SARIMA), the other research management associations in Africa (EARIMA, WARIMA, CARIMA) and the IPRC are grateful to the research management community for receiving outstanding nominations. It is encouraging to see that so many individuals are committed to build the profession of research management.

We congratulate and welcome the following members of the IPRC (2020/21-2023) in their respective categories. The profiles of the members will be posted on the IPRC website ( soon:

Individuals who serve in the position of Pro or Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research (or equivalent)

Prof Joseph Chuma, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Development and Innovation, Botswana International University of Science and Technology, Botswana

Prof José Frantz, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation, University of the Western Cape, South Africa

Prof Olanike Adeyemo, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Innovation and Strategic Partnerships, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Individuals who serve in the position of Director of a Research Office (or equivalent) at a university or a research institution

Dr Robin Drennan, Director for Research Development, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Mr Dembo Kanteh, Coordinator: West Africa Research Platform, MRC Unit The Gambia at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, The Gambia

Individuals from key agencies and/or organisations involved in the research and innovation system

Dr Thabi Maitin, Division Head: Research Capacity Development, South African Medical Research Council, South Africa

Ms Allen Mukhwana, Research Systems Manager, The African Academy of Sciences, Kenya

Representatives from African research management associations who are experienced research managers

Prof Madara Ogot, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Innovation and Enterprise, University of Nairobi, Kenya and President of the East African Research and Innovation Management Association (EARIMA)

Prof Labode Popoola, Vice Chancellor: Osun State University, Nigeria and Executive Member of the West African Research and Innovation Management Association (WARIMA)

Dr Josepha Foba, Head of the Chemistry Department, University of Buea, Cameroon and Secretary General of the Central African Research and Innovation Management Association (CARIMA)

Individuals drawn from international research management associations

Dr Elliott Kulakowski, President of the Research Administration and Management Strategy Group; Adjunct Professor in the School of Medicine, University of Utah, United States and former Chief Executive Officer of the Society of Research Administrators International (SRAi)

Mr Jagdees Pabla, Research Delivery Partner, University of Coventry, United Kingdom, Member of the External Relations and Awards Committees of the European Association of Research Managers and Administrators (EARMA) and former EARMA Board Member

Prof Joe Graffam, Professor Emeritus and past Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research, Deakin University, Australia and Chair of the Australasian Research Management Society (ARMS) Accreditation Council

Co-opted/ad hoc members

Dr Garry Aslanyan, Manager Partnerships and Governance, Special Program for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR) at the World Health Organization (WHO), Switzerland and ESSENCE on Health Research Coordinator

Dr Marilet Sienaert, former Executive Director Research, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Dr Tembeka Mpako-Ntusi, former Director of Research, Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa and a past president of SARIMA

Dr John Kirkland, Senior Advisor (External Affairs) at the National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR), former Chief Operating Officer at NIESR and former Deputy Secretary-General of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), United Kingdom

Dr José Jackson-Malete, Co-Director of the Alliance for African Partnerships (AAP), Michigan State University, United States and a past President of SARIMA

IPRC Secretariat

Dr Pamisha Pillay, Vice-President Research Management, SARIMA

The IPRC is an independent body that oversees the quality and standards of professional recognition. Technical Review Committee of the IPRC awards professional recognition to research managers through a peer recognition process. We are confident that the expertise and experience of the IPRC members will move the professionalisation of research management in Africa to the next level.

The research management community can look forward to a next call for professional recognition early in September. Please keep your eye on the IPRC website for the announcement and further details.

Scroll to Top